Still Waters

The vibrant hues of sunset blazed golden and pink across sky, across water. All was still except for the gentle lap of the bay or the occasional bark of dogs in the distance. Somewhere overhead, a plane droned. Then, the other noises seemed to fade and the silence remained unbroken except for the cry of gulls. Thousands upon thousands of these birds flapped quietly across sky, still ablaze with color. Some soared near, some were only distant specks, yet they continued to gracefully pass by. Gentle breezes kissed my face. As the sun slipped deeper behind the horizon of pines, a chill lingered in the air. ┬áIt was a peaceful, sight there on the wooden pier beside the still waters…

“The LORD is my Shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth me beside the still waters.” Psalm 23:1-2

