New Every Morning

My heart thrilled at the freshness of morning as I opened the door and let out puppies who were eager to explore the world anew. The air was brisk and chilly. I inhaled, exhaled. The warmth of my breath turned into vapor. 

In a sky of clearest, deepest blue, two jets flew parallel above in the quiet–too high to be heard, but high enough to catch the bright rays of the sun while the rest of the world below was doused in shadow and crisp with frozen dew. 

This beauty was there. All wrapped up like the delight of a surprise gift. Beauty often comes in the unexpected. It came like the compassions of the Lord that are “new every morning.”

“It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.  -Lamentations 3:22-26 

