EveryHeartPhotography, Matthew 11:28-30

Come Unto Me

“Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, & I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28a

I slipped into bed under my brightly colored quilt weary in body, weary in soul. Heavy laden.  These words of Jesus drew me to Him like so many times before–oh how my soul craved rest. And He offered it to me.  In a flood of rich mercy, He has already gone before.  He lived a sinless and pure life by keeping the law to perfection, “a Lamb without blemish and without spot” {1 Pet. 1:18-19}.

How lovely His life is in contrast to mine. His matchless beauty in exchange for my filthy ashes {Is. 61:3}. What value, what worth He places upon this lump of broken clay–offering to store the most exquisite of all treasures in an earthen vessel to give Him the brighter praise, brighter glory, and brighter power against my frailties and weaknesses {2 Cor. 4:7}.

 

Lord, what shall earth and ashes do?
We would adore our maker, too;
From sin and dust to Thee we cry,
The Great, the Holy, and the High!

Earth from afar has heard Thy fame,
And worms have learned to lisp Thy name;
But, O! the glories of Thy mind
Leave all our soaring thoughts behind.

{An excerpt from the hymn by Isaac Watts, Eternal Power, Whose High Above via}

 

Undeserved merit. Enough to melt a heart of stone in the warmth of everlasting kindness. He has paid for every moment of my sin and shame with His blood. I behold my Maker–who knew my frame and my days before one of them came to be began dying in my place. The One who is “…before all things, and by Him all things consist”–owning my worst, offering Himself,  His life, His perfection, tasting death for me {Ps. 139; Col. 1:17; 2 Cor. 5:21; Heb. 2:9}. Then, He rose again victorious “alive forevermore“with “the keys of hell and of death:”

“And when I saw Him, I fell at His feet as dead. And He laid His right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I am the First and the Last: I am He that liveth, and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.” -Revelation 1:17-18

My security, the rest for my soul is in Jesus who poured out His sacred life for me–loved me. Loved me before the foundations of the world, loved me unto the end {Is. 53:12; John 17; 13:1}. And He welcomes me, He welcomes you to…

“Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

-Matthew 11:28-30

