By Love Serve One Another

The counter was coated in flour. My hands were too. I sliced the homemade dumpling dough into squares, then sprinkled them generously with more flour before gathering them up onto a plate. The chicken broth boiled rapidly in a large, red pot. As I placed the dumplings in one by one and stirred them, hot steam clung to my hands, dampening the leftover flour that remained.

Piano hymns played melodiously in the background. I savored these moments, there in the kitchen making dinner for my family. I delighted in the details. There is so much beauty in ordinary, everyday life when we slow down and by love serve one another

“For, brethren, ye have been called unto liberty; only use not liberty for an occasion to the flesh, but by love serve one another.” –Galatians 5:13

