Longing to Rest in His Hands

Ever had a situation that pressures you?

You know, one that seems to crush hopes or dampen dreams.

Maybe you’re nodding yes? Here’s something that the Lord brought home to my heart the other night…

Hardship is God’s way of kindly erasing everything that vies for our time, energy, and affection so we know that He is the only one we must cling to. Our view of Him becomes clear and unobstructed as the shallow supports fade: they aren’t enough.

We aren’t enough.

whiteflower-april

He is the only one with the power to satisfy and sustain or to bind up what is broken {Is. 61:11}.

Jesus knows what no one else does: our every insecurity, fear, sin, struggle, and scar.

He knows the hairs of our head.

He knows how many times our heart has beaten since birth.

He knows our tears and our laughter.

Not a single minute detail slips unnoticed under His omniscient gaze.

And this same One?

He knows when to try our faith so we’ll grow. There are rough edges that need to be tempered. There are ashes that must be exchanged for beauty {Is. 61:3}.

What a mercy that trials do come!

They bring a sharp awareness of need our for Jesus. Otherwise, we would be numb and wearily drag along with crumpled, wilting, hemorrhaging spirits, hopelessly depending on us to get us through.

Instead, He brings us to the place where the only thing we long for is to rest in His hands.

bumblebee-closeup-flower

“Let your cares drive you to God. I shall not mind if you have many of them if each one leads you to prayer. If every fret makes you lean more on the Beloved, it will be a benefit.”
Charles Haddon Spurgeon

See, friend? We no longer have to be bruised and brutally weighed down by our burdens.

They cause us to lean more on the Beloved as we yield to Jesus in sweet surrender. We are able to give all cares Him. All of them…

“Dear friend, if both your circumstances and your spirits sink, all will be well if you lean on God alone. Never fear that you will become weary to Him, and never ask as little as possible. He says, ‘Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it’ (Ps. 81:10). Never trust Him just a little. Never give Him only a part of your cares. Never rest just a portion of your trials on Him. Lean on Him with all your weight. Bring on the tons, pounds, and ounces and throw them all on God. Do not carry an extra ounce yourself. God loves His children to place their entire confidence in Him.” -Excerpt from Beside Still Waters by C.H. Spurgeon

He is so tenderly gracious. Nothing is left for us to carry. Not even an ounce.

River-ShoreReflections

He desires for us to come to Him in our burdened weariness in exchange for taking up His yoke. He lets us find precisely what we earnestly long for…rest!

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” -Matthew 11:28-30 via

 

 

10 Comments

  1. Moriah, you have no idea how much this encouraged me! As a young person being treated for a chronic bacterial infection, today has been a difficult day, and I needed the reminder to cast not just most but all of my of my cares on God. Thank you for this timely reminder! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that is such a blessing to hear, Lauren! A dear friend sent me the lengthier quote by C.H. Spurgeon the other day, and it was such a rich encouragement to me that I’m thrilled to pass it along to others as well. 🙂

      There is a heartfelt, common compassion that wells for those facing health struggles ever since my Lyme diagnosis 6 1/2 years ago. The symptoms are much better than they were, but I struggle with POTS syndrome. This can be caused by infections, so we think it was triggered by the Lyme. It causes dizziness, weakness, heart palpitations, and fatigue.

      Like you, I’m learning to cast all my cares on the difficult days. Prayers and blessings, friend. ❤

      Like

      1. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your struggles with Lyme! I know it’s rough, but God is faithful and like you said He uses our weaknesses to make us lean harder on Him. You’re in my prayers, sister!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

