Guest Post, Heather Hobden, Trust Summer Series, Unsplash Photo

What Does it Mean to Trust God? | Heather Hobden

Heather opens her heart and gives some excellent thoughts on what it looks like to have a living trust in God in the day to day in this third post of the Trust Summer Series. Be encouraged, reader.

///

Trust is a very scary word for me. I’ve had my trust broken more than once. I’m sure you’ve had at least one person who has broken your trust at least once. I’ve struggled with trusting anyone, especially God for most of my life. I’ve always been the loner, the independent one, the writer, the introvert. It took some of the hardest years of my life for God to wake me up to the realization of how much I need him. I struggle with a lot of over thinking and anxiety attacks. These have plagued my life for about 4-5 years. I believe it’s been my ‘thorn in the flesh’.

      From them, I’ve learned that God truly does use the hard times to wake us up and realize that we need Him and Him alone. God had me push everyone away and get close to Him. I basically gave up on my friendships because I couldn’t explain what was going on in my head. I started to take it all to God. That was the best thing that has ever happened to me. My prayer journals have become my most treasured possessions.       

      This year, I started letting people back in. But, I got attached to them. I didn’t forget about God, I still prayed regularly. But, I didn’t rely on God to get me through the bad days as much. My prayers were more for everyone else. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. But, what I think wasn’t good about it, was that I went to my friends instead of God when I had troubles. God forced one of my close friends away from me and gave them another friend to get me to rely on Him. I’ve started to reconnect again a little with this friend. But, I don’t think our friendship will ever be the same. And, I don’t want it to go back to that. I don’t want anyone to take the place of God in my life.

      God forced me to trust him because I didn’t have anyone else. I’m so grateful to Him that He did that. I am by no means a Christian ‘giant’. I still struggle daily with sin and with bringing my fears to God. But, I’ve learned that God is the only One who can truly make my fears abate.

      A promise that I hold onto is John 14:27 ‘Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.’ Jesus is talking to His disciples here. Jesus promises that He left us peace. This peace is nothing like the false peace that the world promises. The world is never really at peace. With God, we can have true peace. God promises us a peace that is beyond understanding. We can’t even wrap our minds around this peace.  

   Trust Defined

      Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary defines Trust as: Confidence; a reliance or resting of the mind on the integrity, veracity, justice, friendship or sound principle of another person.

      Trust is: confidence in God.

It’s believing that God will fulfill His promises.

It’s relying on God when you want to be independent.

It’s understanding that God is the One who will never let you down. People come and go, they change their minds. God doesn’t leave and it is impossible for him to change His mind.

There are SO many promises about trusting God in the Bible. Here are just a few.

  •    Isaiah 26: 4-5 ‘Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock. For he has humbled the inhabitants of the height, the lofty city. He lays it low, lays it low to the ground, casts it to the dust.’
  •    Isaiah 32: 17-18 ‘And the effect of righteousness will be peace, and the result of righteousness, quietness and trust forever. My people will abide in a peaceful habitation, in secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places.
  •    Isaiah 40:28-31 ‘Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they that wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.
  •    Isaiah 43:2 ‘When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.
  •    Jeremiah 17:7-8 ‘Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.  
  •    Psalm 20:7-8 ‘Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright.’
  •    Proverbs 29:25 ‘The fear of man lays a snare, but whoever trust in the Lord is safe.’
  •    Psalm 22:9-10 ‘Yet you are he who took me from the womb; you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts. On you was I cast from my birth, and from my mother’s womb you have been my God.’

And, this is just a few of the hundreds of promises about trusting God in the Bible. Something that I find really interesting, is that God tells us to ‘not fear’ 365 times in the Bible. That’s a daily reminder to trust Him.

God uses (1)

With all of these promises from God, why don’t we trust him?

      First, I think the reason that we don’t trust God is because we want to be independent and we’re prideful. In order to trust someone to help us, we have to accept that we can’t do it on our own. At the core of us, we humans are very prideful beings.

      Trusting God means humbling ourselves. To put our trust in God, we have to believe that He will keep His promises. I know from experience that most of the time it’s very hard for me to go to God and admit that I don’t know what I’m doing and that I can’t do it on my own. I have learned though, that the days that I go to God are much better than the days that I rely on myself. God truly keeps His promises.

      To trust God we have to stop trusting in man. Man will break his promises. Accept that. Some people are better at keeping them than others. But, every person in your life will probably break your trust at least once. I know it’s hard to accept. But, understand, God will NEVER break a promise that He makes. Think about the rainbow:

Genesis 9:12-16 says: And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and everything living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never become a flood to destroy all flesh. When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.”  

God promised that He would never again flood the entire earth. Scientists speculate that the flood happened around 4,000 years ago. God, has kept this promise for thousands of generations. This is overwhelming proof that God doesn’t break His promises. Because of this, we can trust Him.

      Just think about the exact timelines He gives throughout the Old Testament. God promised that the Israelites would only be in captivity in Babylon for 70 years: Jeremiah 29:10 “For thus says the Lord: When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will visit you, and I will fulfill to you my promise and bring you back to this place.” God kept this promise. In the book of Ezra, we see the captives being set free after exactly 70 years of captivity.

      Esther is proof that God can use even the worst and scariest things for good. Esther could have been killed when she went before the king. But, she trusted that God had a bigger plan. In Esther 4:16 b, it says, “I and my young women will also fast as you do. Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.” Can you imagine how terrified Esther was to say this? But, she knew God had a bigger plan and she trusted that His will would come to pass.

 

In Closing

      God is where we need to put our trust. In Him, we will never be disappointed. God promises throughout the bible that if we trust in Him we will be blessed.

  •    Psalm 32:10 ‘Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but the steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the Lord.’
  •    Psalm 125:1 ‘Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion, which cannot be moved, but abides forever.’
  •    Psalm 37:40 ‘The Lord helps them and delivers them; he delivers them from the wicked and saves them, because they take refuge in him.’
  •    Psalm 56:11 ‘in God I trust; “I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?’
  •    Proverbs 3:5-6 ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.’

Soli Deo Gloria (Glory to God alone)

Heather

///

Heather is a high school graduate who loves writing. You can find her work over at Heather’s Ambitions: https://heathersambitions.wordpress.com/

She also co-authors the blog To Wish Upon Chances: https://towishuponchances.wordpress.com/

When she isn’t writing, she’s either, cooking, crafting, wasting time on the internet, researching blogging, reading, doing chores, or spending time with her friends and family. She also loves drawing and doing calligraphy and you can check both out on her art Instagram at HeathersArt https://www.instagram.com/heathersart_/

4 thoughts on “What Does it Mean to Trust God? | Heather Hobden”

Leave a Reply

